User permissions

By default a new user will have no permissions enabled on their account, regular users can only see and track time for themselves but as an Admin you’ll be able to see and report on all time, as well as generate invoices from time added by any users in the system. Admins can edit other user permissions by going into the Account tab.

To edit user permissions:

  1. Go to the ‘Account’ tab (top right of MinuteDock).

  2. Click  ‘Manage’ next to the user.

  3. Select and deselect the permissions as needed.

  4. Click ‘update’ to save.

When you add a new user they can see all the contacts by default but can’t add/edit them. Admins can limit the clients available to users. Projects are linked to contacts so they will be able to track time to all projects under the contacts they have access to.

To limit the clients available to a user:

  1. Go to the ‘Account’ tab (top right of MinuteDock).

  2. Click on ‘Manage’ next to the user you want to limit.

  3. Click on ‘More options’ to show additional settings.

  4. Under ‘Allowed Contacts’ section select and deselect which contacts the user can see. This will also restrict their access to projects related to those contacts.

  5. Click ‘Update’ to save your changes.

Below are descriptions of each of the permissions and what enabling them means for a user.

Manage MinuteDock Account & Users

Selecting this makes a regular user into an Admin. It will show the Account tab on their MinuteDock account and it will allow the user to view, add, manage permissions for and remove other users. It will also automatically apply all of the permissions described below to their account. If you deselect this again, you can choose to give a user one or more of the below permissions.

Manage Invoices

This will show the Invoices tab on their account. It will allow the user to view, create, edit and send invoices. They will be able to see all time entries and hourly rates for users, contacts, projects and tasks.

Manage Contacts

This will show the Contacts tab on their account. It will allow the user to view, add, and remove contacts. They will be able to see contact’s hourly rates.

Manage Projects & Tasks

This permission will show the Projects & Tasks tab on their account. It will allow the user to view, add, and remove Projects and Tasks. They will be able to see the hourly rates for Projects & Tasks.

Report On Other’s Time

This permission will allow a user to see other users’ time entries, and create reports that include all users’ time entries.

Edit Others’ Time

This permission will allow a user to see other users’ time entries and goals, edit their time entries, and even track time on their behalf.

Was this article helpful? Yes No
Not quite what you're looking for?

Contact us here or by email.